So… I peed my pants..

Seriously.

You know how you keep hearing things from different people, in different places…  and it eventually builds up to an epiphany?

Well I had one after reading Alison Kramer’s (@nummiesbras) guest blog post on Elizabeth’s (@ElizabethPW) site… found here >> http://elizabethpottsweinstein.com/run

The post made me want to get up and run – something I NEVER want to do…

But because Britty (@britteliz) planted the seed and has been doing such an amazing job with the Couch to 5K program – so inspirational – Allison’s post put it over the edge!

But I didn’t run after reading her post…  I had to go to my son’s school and walk with him to his new kindergarten class next year, and see what they would be doing…  Then he came home and we played…

About 10 pm last night, I was ready to go run… but the mosquitos here in Florida at night – PLEASE!  I could have done the treadmill…  don’t think I’m altruistic or anything.. but I get SO bored on that thing, I never last 2 minutes…

So about noon today, I was about to grab a book, go lounge in the pool on a raft and read.

But then I thought… WTH are you doing Shelly?  GO RUN… Then I said (to myself – don’t judge) – You have got to be kidding… it is NOON in FLORIDA, are you crazy…  You can run later… maybe start on Tuesday after the holiday

So now… Cue the epiphany…

I ALWAYS, ALWAYS procrastinate starting exercising…  The fact that I have kept up on the Tae Kwon Do twice a week is phenomenal I tell ya…

I decided it was now or never (as it has been) – I went and ask hubby if he would like to run with me…  He said sure.

We grabbed our iPods, put on our shoes, grabbed some water (did I mention noon in Florida?) and we took off.

We stretched a bit (Hubby IS a runner) – so we start a brisk walk and I decide to jog until I can’t jog any more…

As I’m jogging, I feel this heat down my leg and in my pelvis (read the about section for the story of my jacked up pelvis).  These pains are a normal part of my day…  Been to many doctors, won’t take pain pills – so I live with it…

So when I stop to cross the street, I feel this trickle down my leg…  Turns out the heat wasn’t just from pain, I had peed.

Now I know that is WAY TOO MUCH INFORMATION – but here is why I share this…

I stopped my husband and showed him what happened – he asked why – I said – I don’t know… so we walked back down to our house…

AND… I didn’t quit…

I went and changed my shorts… and then we went back out…  I didn’t run again.. but I did power walk over 2 miles…

I repeat….  I didn’t quit…  that is why I shared the TMI – because I thought it rounded out the whole issue of me running/working out in totality…

To quote Britty “Can I get a HELL YEAH?”

4 Responses to So… I peed my pants..

  1. seebrittrun says:

    HELL YEAH! I’m so so proud of you! Trust me, I’ve had my own embarrassing running moments, but the fact that you changed and then kept going is IMPRESSIVE! I know I just said it, but I’m so so proud of you. In fact, I may have squeed when I read this!

    • randomshelly says:

      Yeah! I love Squeees 🙂 I think hubby was completely surprised that I kept going too! thanks for the inspiration sweetie!

Leave a comment